I found my way gradually

dscn0559

This morning I slipped from rusted garments
to nudge the casement with an insolent shoulder.
Foot, leg, body followed, unfurling from the dark,
parched with the soft dryness of words,
seeking rock, salt and wind, seeking water.

I found my way gradually,
tracing the curve of the sky with a sodium-licked lash,
feeling the earth’s spine rear below my feet.
All the stones on the beach, and me,

whispering
welcome clouds,
welcome sea,
welcome rain,
for a moment fixed.

 

One thought on “I found my way gradually”

Leave a Reply

